There are 8 main types of bears, those are...

- Sun Bear

- Panda Bear

- Polar Bear

- Sloth Bear

- Spectacled Bear

- American Black bear

- Asian Black Bear

- Brown bear


- Bears have two layers of fur. A short layer of fur keeps the bear warm. And a long layer keeps water away from the skin and short fur.

- Bears are very smart and have been known to roll rocks into bear traps to set off the trap and eat the bait in safety.

- The worlds most widely distributed bear is the brown bear. However, the American black bear is the world's most common bear species.

- Polar bears are the only bear species that is a marine mammal.

- Certain bears in Russia have become addicted to sniffing Jet Fuel out of discarded barrels. Going as far as stalking helicopters for the drops of fuel they leave behind.

- Some black bears are born white and are called Spirit Bears. They are not albino or polar bears.

- Bears have excellent senses of smell, sight and hearing. They can smell food, cubs, a mate or predators from miles away. Their great eyesight allows them to detect when fruits are ripe.

We will focus on the Panda Bear, Polar Bear and Brown Bear.